ARPG Side Story 2-7

Flirt a little

You decide to flirt just a little with Monty. You doubt anything will come of it, but it’s still fun to do.

“I’m not really that tired yet.” You say as you sidle up next to him. “And surely you wouldn’t mind me keeping you warm while you keep watch.”

“You…” He looks at you for a moment before sighing. “I’d rather you not distract me. Neither of us want any beasts sneaking up on us.”

You shrug and give him a smile. “I was just playing. You’re way too serious sometimes.” You sit next to him, thinking for a moment. “So, aren’t you kinda cold? I mean, you’re just wearing that vest. Doesn’t look very warm.”

“I live in Shi’la. It’s usually colder there than here.” He explains. “I’m just used to it, I suppose.”

“I probably should have brought more clothes…” You shiver just a bit. It’s quickly getting colder, though you’re sure you’ll be fine. “Though I don’t really like being out this much anyway.” You relax, laying back and resting on the ground. “So… Beliya offered to partner up after all this. You know, quit the guild and work freelance with her. I think I’m going to try it out. She said you could join too, if you wanted.”

“Hm?” He continues to keep watch as he speaks. “Go freelance? Well, she looks like she doesn’t struggle to find work. Though I’m not sure if I’m ready to leave my guild. I will have to think about it.”

Monty seems to be quite professional, so it’s hard to get really entertaining conversation out of him, though as the night goes on, you continue to try. In the end though, you get tired enough that you just fall asleep next to him.

You wake in the morning with a blanket covering you. The warm sunlight peeks into the cave as your allies break down the camp. It looks like you’re ready to head back out and see if you can find the ruins. After a bit of time, you head outside and back up the hill. Beliya confirms once again the locations of the two ruins she can see.

“One to the west, one to the north. They’re far out there. It’ll take us most of the day to reach one, and if we have to head to the other one, that’s probably another day.” The elf sighs. “If we pick the wrong one, we could be stuck out here for quite a lot longer.”

“Can you see anything different about the two?” Monty asks. “Perhaps that will give us a clue to which we should go for.”

“Hm…” She looks back out for a moment. “The one to the west looks a bit larger. It has a few towers. That’s really all I can tell.”

“Melra, we’ll leave it to you. Which one should we travel to?” Monty turns to you to ask. You think for a bit. The guild didn’t tell you much about the ruin that you’re searching for. However, you do know a few things about these ruins. If the one that Beliya is speaking of does have towers, that would likely mean that it was some sort of civilian structure in the past. You can’t be certain of the other one though.

[WAITING FOR INPUT…]

—–

So you guys know, there’s three types of ruins. (Ancient Ruins in this case)

Civilian Ruins are generally safe aside from whatever has taken up residence within. They tend to not have a lot of interest within.
Military Ruins tend to have some defences and traps, making them more dangerous. Due to the natural security of defences, they are often still unlooted.
Lab Ruins are unpredictable and can be perfectly safe, or deathtraps. These can have some of the more unique items within.